END - End the Edit Session
The END command may be used in an Edit or Browse session, in a Set Edit session, in a Clip Edit session, or in the File Manager.
Using END in an Edit session
To end an edit session by using END, do one of the following:
- Enter END on the Command line, or
- Press a keyboard key to which END is assigned; the default setting is F3; or
- Right-click on the file tab; this causes SPFLite to take the same action as the END command.
These methods will process the data as described below, and will close the current edit tab.
- Use the standard Windows close button X in the Title bar, or
- Enter EXIT on the Command line, or
- Enter =X on the Command line, or
- Press a keyboard key to which EXIT is assigned. There is no default setting for this; you would have to map a desired key using the KEYMAP facility if you wanted to have it available.
These methods will cause END processing to be performed as described below for all active tabs. SPFLite will then terminate after all files are closed.
The actions performed on the data being processed in each tab will be as follows:
- If there is no data present and the tab shows (Empty), the tab is closed without being saved.
- If the tab is an unmodified Browse session, the Browse tab is simply closed. If the current data has been modified and the AUTOSAVE setting contains a PROMPT value (either AUTOSAVE ON PROMPT or AUTOSAVE OFF PROMPT) then a prompt will be issued to confirm the loss of the modified data. An exit from the END can be requested to allow saving the data before continuing.
- If the tab is a CLIP Edit session, the current data will be returned to the Windows Clipboard and then the Clipboard tab will be closed.
- If the tab is a SET Edit session, the current SET variables are saved in SPFLite's SET variable configuration file, and will be present the next time SPFLite is restarted.
- If data is present, and no changes were made to the data since it was first opened or since the last SAVE command, the tab is closed without being saved.
- If the data has unsaved changes, then the AUTOSAVE and AUTOBKUP settings of the current Profile will be applied. AUTOSAVE determines whether or not unsaved changes are automatically saved and whether or not you will be prompted before this action is taken. AUTOBKUP controls whether a backup of the current file will be automatically created. See the Help descriptions of AUTOSAVE and AUTOBKUP for more information.
When a file is automatically saved, when either the END command is issued or a file tab is clicked with the right mouse button, and AUTOSAVE is in effect, a message of File Saved will appear on the status line, as a reminder that the automatic save took place. This message will disappear as soon as any key is pressed. When a Multi-Edit session is ended, the File Saved message will contain a count of the number of files saved.
Using END in the File Manager
The END command in File Manager is used to ‘return' to the next higher level in the file list being displayed. The particular type of display shown as a result of END depends on the kind of display currently shown and on how you navigated to that display originally. To the extent possible, END will try to ‘undo' the navigation you previously did, in much the same that a CHDIR .. command does in a DOS prompt. The END command replaces the DIR UP functionality that was present in prior versions of SPFLite.
As with Edit sessions, if you right-click the File Manager tab it causes SPFLite to take the same action as the END command.
- If the current file display is a directory list, END will replace the current display with a display of the parent directory. Once you get to the root directory like C:\ the END command will have no effect and the display will remain at the root directory.
- If you are displaying one of the standard File Lists (Recent Files, Favorite Files or Found Files), END will replace the current File List display with a display of the last-displayed directory list.
- If you are displaying Named Favorites File Lists because you clicked on the Named Favorites entry and then on your own named list, END will replace the named File List display with a display of the Named Favorites list. If you clicked on the Named Favorites entry but did not click on one of your own named lists, END will replace the current File List display with a display of the last-displayed directory list.
Created with the Personal Edition of HelpNDoc: Free help authoring environment