RESET - Reset (Edit Mode)

Syntax


RESET

[ line-control-range ]

[ ALL ]

[ CHANGE ]

[ COMMAND ]

[ WORD ]

[ EXCLUDED ]

[ USER ]

[ HIDE ]

[ LABEL ]

[ RETRIEVE ]

[ SPECIAL ]

[ STATE ]

[ TAGS ]

[ RED ] [ BLUE ] [ GREEN ] [ YELLOW ] [ STD ]


Operands


line-control-range

The range of lines which are to be processed by the command.  Line control ranges provide a powerful tool to customize the range of lines to be processed.   The full syntax and allowable operands which make up a line control range are discussed in "Line Control Range Specification".  Refer to that section of the documentation for details.


Note: Normally the line-control-range can be specified via the command line or via C/CC line commands.  For RESET, the use of the C/CC option is not allowed; you must use a line-control-range operand.


ALL

If entered with none of the following operands, ALL requests a reset of all the options below except RETRIEVE, LABELS and TAGS and the names of the colors.  (See note below.)  .  If entered along with any of those operands, it has no special effect


COMMAND

Clear all pending line commands from the specified range.


WORD

Reset the WORD values back to the SPFLite default.


EXCLUDED

Clear all excluded lines back to non-excluded status.


USER

Reverts all User Lines ("U lines") back to ordinary lines ("V lines").


Note that U lines have a | vertical in the "gap column", the space between the line number and the actual text, to mark them as User Lines.  Resetting U lines back to ordinary V lines will cause this gap column to be displayed as blank again.


HIDE

Turn HIDE mode off.  RESET HIDE is equivalent to a HIDE OFF command.


LABEL

Clear all current labels markers from the specified range.


RETRIEVE

Reset the primary command Retrieve stack.


SPECIAL

Delete all special lines (COLS, WORD, TABS etc.) from the specified range.


STATE

Clear all STATE related values from the specified range.   This is equivalent to issuing the three operands EXCLUDED, LABELS and TAGS.


TAGS

Clear all tags from the specified range.


RED | BLUE |

GREEN | YELLOW

Clears the specified color from all lines of text within the line range, returning text that was in the specified color back to the "standard" text color.  Multiple colors may be specified.


COLOR

Removes all of the colors RED, BLUE, GREEN and/or YELLOW from all lines of text within the line range, returning all text back to the "standard" text color.

Abbreviations and Aliases


RESET can also be spelled as RES

CHANGE can also be spelled as C or CHG

COLOR can also be spelled as STD

COMMAND can also be spelled as CMD or COM

EXCLUDED can also be spelled as X, EX, EXC, or EXCLUDE

LABEL can also be spelled as LAB or LABELS

SPECIAL can also be spelled as SPE

TAGS can also be spelled as TAG

USER can also be spelled as U

WORDS can also be spelled as WORD

Description


The RESET command allows you to clear or reset one or more types of line status.


If RESET is entered with no operands, it acts as if you had entered all operands except RETRIEVE, LABELS and TAGS and the names of the colors.  (See note below.)  


Starting in version 8.1, the "retrieve stack" is not reset by a RESET without operands.  This change was made to improve ISPF compatibility.  ISPF does not reset its retrieve stack when its RESET is issued, and the form RESET RETRIEVE is an SPFLite extension that does not exist in ISPF.


That is, a RESET by itself will not clear labels or tags, nor will it remove the colors set by the virtual highlighting-pen keyboard functions.


The ISPF command RESET ERROR is not supported in SPFLite; use of the keyword ERROR is invalid.


Note:


Special handling of RESET when resetting User Line status


Long time ISPF users are accustomed to RESET performing a number of default resetting actions, when no options are specified.  A plain RESET is commonly used to reset excluded lines, as if RESET X were specified.  These default actions can be extended to the new User Line feature.  That is, a plain RESET can revert any existing User Lines back to ordinary non-User Lines, as if RESET U were specified.


However, since User Lines are a new facility, there is no prior experience to form a consensus about how this should best be handled.  Some users may want User Lines implicitly reverted, and others might not.


To address this, a plain RESET will revert any existing User Lines back to ordinary non-User Lines, but only if you enable the checkbox on the General Options dialog that says, "Default RESET will revert user line status".  By default, this checkbox is disabled.


See Options - General for more information.  


Created with the Personal Edition of HelpNDoc: Free Qt Help documentation generator