SAVE writes the data to the same file from which it was retrieved.
When a SAVE command is issued for a newly created file that does not yet have a name (you will know this by the file-tab label of (Empty) for this file), you will see the same file-saving dialog that you will see when SAVEAS is used. A window will appear with a title of Specify file to SaveAs, where you can enter the new file's name. The SAVEAS command can still be used as previously to achieve the same effect.
The advantage of this change is that if you had a key mapped to the SAVE command (such as Ctrl-S, for instance) that same key could be used to save both new files and existing files.
Note: Any subsequent CANCEL command issued after a SAVE has been done will only discard changes made since the last save, not all changes made since the beginning of the entire edit session.
File format issues
If you wish to save a file in a format other than the normal default specified by your PROFILE settings, see "Handling Non-Windows Text Files" for additional information.
Created with the Personal Edition of HelpNDoc: Free EPub and documentation generator