V / VV - Revert User Line status

Syntax


V[n]

VV / VV




Operands


n

The number of lines whose User Line status is to revert back to that of ordinary lines (V lines).   If specified as 0 or omitted, 1 is assumed.


Description


User lines are a way to specially identify lines for further processing.   They provide a selection technique for other commands to identify which lines are (or are not) to be processed.  


Conceptually, all data lines exist in one of two states:  Either they are "U lines" or they are "V lines", where U lines ("User lines") are a set of one or more lines of special interest at some particular time, and V lines are everything else.  User lines are marked with a | vertical bar in the "gap column", and V lines are unmarked.  The unmarked V lines are the same, ordinary data lines you have always worked with.

 

A file will ordinarily consist entirely of V lines, which is the default state of a file.  Other that having one or the other of these U/V states, there is no difference between U and V lines and the data lines you have always worked with.


Just as you can use the X and NX keywords on primary commands to select between excluded or non-excluded lines, you can use the U and NU keywords on primary commands to select between User or non-User lines.  


Any primary command that accepts the X|NX option will accept the U|NU option.


The User line status is independent of other line characteristics.   That means that any of these attributes may be applied to a line independently of each other:



If you have set STATE ON for the file type you are editing, the User Line state of a file is persistent, so that the User/non-User state of the edit lines is retained when you close SPFLite and restart it later.


To revert a line means to change the state of a line from being a User Line to being an ordinary line (a V line).


It is not an error to attempt to revert a line that is already an ordinary line.  The request will be processed, and the state of the line will simply be unchanged.


To revert one or more lines from being User lines to being ordinary (V) lines:



1.

Type V in the line command area of the source code line that you wish to be reverted from a User line to an ordinary line. To revert lines following this one, type a number greater than 1 after the V command.  



2.

Press Enter.  



3.

The specified lines will revert to being ordinary (V) lines.  



To revert a block of lines:


1.

Type VV in the line command area of both the first and last source code lines that contain the lines that are to be un-marked. You can scroll (or use FIND or LOCATE) between typing the first VV and the second VV, if necessary.



2.

Press Enter.



3.

The specified lines that contain the two VV commands and in all of the lines between them are un-marked as User lines.



Example


(before):


000010 line ten

VV    |line eleven

VV    |line twelve

000013 line thirteen


After UU processing:


000010 line ten

000011 line eleven

000012 line twelve

000013 line thirteen


Note the selected lines, which had a | in the space between the line number and the actual text to indicate User status, have now been returned to normal status as ordinary lines (V lines).


Created with the Personal Edition of HelpNDoc: Write EPub books for the iPad